Awards and Reviews

Book Reviews

Book Awards


Ottawa Book Awards
Presented annually to authors living in Ottawa, this prize is awarded for works of fiction and non-fiction in both English and French.

Trillium Book Award
Established by the Ontario government, this award has been presented annually since 1987 for books written in English and French by Ontario authors. Works of fiction, non-fiction, drama, and children’s literature are eligible.

CBC Literary Prizes

Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction
The mandate of the Charles Taylor Prize is to enhance public appreciation for the genre of literary non-fiction in the belief that a well-read and well-informed public is essential to a thriving democracy.

Griffin Poetry Prize
The Griffin includes two annual literary prizes – one to a living Canadian poet, and the other to a living poet from any country (which may include Canada).

Governor General’s Literary Awards
Initiated in 1937 by the Canadian Authors Association with the agreement of Governor General Lord Tweedsmuir (novelist John Buchan), these awards are now administered by the Canada Council for the Arts. Prizes are awarded for English and French works in the six categories of Fiction, Poetry, Drama, Nonfiction, Childrens Literature (text and illustration) and Translation.

The Scotiabank Giller Prize
This prize is awarded annually to the author of a Canadian novel or short story collection published in English. The prize is named in honour of the late literary journalist Doris Giller and was founded in 1994 by her husband, Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch.

Arthur Ellis Awards
The Arthur Ellis Awards are presented in 6 categories for excellence in works in the crime genre published for the first time in the previous year by authors living in Canada, regardless of their nationality, or by Canadian writers living outside of Canada.

The Toronto Book Awards
Established by Toronto City Council in 1974, The Toronto Book Awards honour authors of books of literary or artistic merit that are evocative of Toronto.


International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award
Since 1996, this award, involving libraries from all corners of the globe, has been presented annually for a work of fiction written in the English language or published in English translation.

Man Booker Prize
Established in 1968, this prize aims to reward the best novel of the year written by a citizen of the Commonwealth or Republic of Ireland.

Nobel Prize in Literature

Pulitzer Prizes
The Pulitzer Prizes were endowed by journalist Joseph Pulitzer in a bequest to Columbia University and are awarded annually on recommendation of the Pulitzer Prize Board for work done during the preceding year by an American.

PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction
Founded in 1985 by a group of writers and PEN, the international writers organization, the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction is an annual prize which honors the best published works of fiction by American citizens.

Movie Reviews

Film and TV Awards



Disclaimer: Neither the Library nor its web designers are liable or responsible for the content of these links or where they are hosted.
Please read our terms of use for more information