Find it!
The Library can help you find books, movies,
talking books, eResources, magazine & newspaper articles, digital images, genealogical material and more!

Awards & Reviews




Ottawa Book Awards - ottawa.ca/en/rec_culture/arts/awards/book/index.html
Presented annually to authors living in Ottawa, this prize is awarded for works of fiction and non-fiction in both English and French.

Trillium Book Award - www.omdc.on.ca/book/trillium_book_award.htm
Established by the Ontario government, this award has been presented annually since 1987 for books written in English and French by Ontario authors. Works of fiction, non-fiction, drama, and children's literature are eligible.

CBC Literary Awards - www.cbc.ca/radio/literaryawards/
The only literary competition that celebrates original, unpublished works, in Canada's two official languages. There are three categories: creative nonfiction, poetry, and short story. These awards are presented in partnership with the Canada Council for the Arts and Air Canada's enRoute magazine.

Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction - www.thecharlestaylorprize.ca/
The mandate of the Charles Taylor Prize is to enhance public appreciation for the genre of literary non-fiction in the belief that a well-read and well-informed public is essential to a thriving democracy.

Griffin Poetry Prize - www.griffinpoetryprize.com
The Griffin includes two annual literary prizes - one to a living Canadian poet, and the other to a living poet from any country (which may include Canada).

Governor General's Literary Awards - canadacouncil.ca/council/prizes/major-prizes/governor-generals-literary-awards
Initiated in 1937 by the Canadian Authors Association with the agreement of Governor General Lord Tweedsmuir (novelist John Buchan), these awards are now administered by the Canada Council for the Arts. Prizes are awarded for English and French works in the six categories of Fiction, Poetry, Drama, Nonfiction, Childrens Literature (text and illustration) and Translation.

The Scotiabank Giller Prize - www.scotiabankgillerprize.ca
This prize is awarded annually to the author of a Canadian novel or short story collection published in English. The prize is named in honour of the late literary journalist Doris Giller and was founded in 1994 by her husband, Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch.

Arthur Ellis Awards - www.crimewriterscanada.com/awards/arthur-ellis-awards/about
The Arthur Ellis Awards are presented in 6 categories for excellence in works in the crime genre published for the first time in the previous year by authors living in Canada, regardless of their nationality, or by Canadian writers living outside of Canada.

The Evergreen Award - www.accessola.org/OLAWEB/Forest_of_Reading/OLAWEB/Forest_of_Reading/Breaking_News.aspx
This Ontario Library Association program introduced in 2005 gives adult library patrons the opportunity to vote for a work of Canadian fiction or non-fiction that they have liked the most. Books on the selection list must be by a living Canadian author, and may be fiction or non-fiction, biography, memoir, history, travel book or graphic novel.

The Toronto Book Awards - www.toronto.ca/book_awards/index.htm
Established by Toronto City Council in 1974, The Toronto Book Awards honour authors of books of literary or artistic merit that are evocative of Toronto.


International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award - www.impacdublinaward.ie
Since 1996, this award, involving libraries from all corners of the globe, has been presented annually for a work of fiction written in the English language or published in English translation.

Man Booker Prize - www.themanbookerprize.com
Established in 1968, this prize aims to reward the best novel of the year written by a citizen of the Commonwealth or Republic of Ireland.

Nobel Prize in Literature - nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/literature

Bailey's Women Prize for Fiction - www.womensprizeforfiction.co.uk/
These prizes were set up in 1996 to promote fiction written in English by women throughout the world.

Pulitzer Prizes - www.pulitzer.org
The Pulitzer Prizes were endowed by journalist Joseph Pulitzer in a bequest to Columbia University and are awarded annually on recommendation of the Pulitzer Prize Board for work done during the preceding year by an American.

Kiriyama Prize - www.cookbookfair.com/winners.php
The Gourmand World Cookbook Awards were founded in 1995 by Edouard Cointreau. Every year, they honour the best food and wine books.

PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction - www.penfaulkner.org
Founded in 1985 by a group of writers and PEN, the international writers organization, the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction is an annual prize which honors the best published works of fiction by American citizens.

The Edgar Awards - www.theedgars.com
The Edgar Allan Poe Awards (popularly called the Edgars), named after Edgar Allan Poe, are presented every year by the Mystery Writers of America. They honor the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction, television, film, and theatre published or produced in the previous year.



North America


Disclaimer: Neither the Library nor its web designers are liable or responsible for the content of these links or where they are hosted. Please read our terms of use for more information »

 Stay Connected with
      Your Library
    Copyright ©
    Township of Russell Public Library
    1053 Concession     Russell, ON
    Contact Information